720-913-5000 auditor@denvergov.org

Our Office

 

Auditor Timothy M. O’Brien

Denver’s Auditor, Timothy M. O’Brien, CPA, has more than 40 years of auditing and accounting experience. Auditor O’Brien strives to bring greater clarity, transparency, and accountability to Denver’s City government for its residents. Elected as the Denver Auditor in 2015, Timothy O’Brien is distinguished from his predecessors by being an actual professional auditor.  He is a licensed Certified Professional Accountant and holds the designations of Chartered Financial Analyst and Chartered Global Management Accountant.

More information

In his 11 years in Colorado’s top auditing job, the Colorado State Auditor, Auditor O’Brien: -Pushed for the Great Colorado Payback program that returned almost $400 million to the rightful owners, -Produced over 750 financial and performance audits, -Identified savings of over $200 million, -Managed budget increases to less than 1.5% per year, and -Was twice recognized by the non-partisan National Conference of State Legislatures for his legislative program. As a Board member, an Audit Committee expert, and as an auditor, Auditor O’Brien: -Participated in hundreds of audits. -Facilitated the merger between two publicly held corporations. -Advised public pension plans. Auditor O’Brien has led both private and public organizations, and provided expert financial advice to those and others. He was honored with the 2016 Jonathan Holtzinger Award of Excellence by the Colorado Chartered Financial Analyst Society for demonstrating the highest standards as a financial and investment professional. Auditor O’Brien also received the 2017 Outstanding CPA in Government Impact Award from the American Institute of CPAs.

Auditor O’Brien’s experience includes:

  • Chairman, Board of Trustees, Public Employee Retirement Association of Colorado (PERA)
  • Chairman of the Board, family of 29 mutual funds
  • President and CEO, American Humane Association
  • Chairman of the Board and Chair of the Audit Committee, Colorado Housing and Finance Authority (CHFA)
  • Board Member and Chairman of the Audit Committee of a telecommunications company
  • Board Member and Treasurer, Lions Club of Denver
  • President and Board Member, Colorado Society of CPAs
  • Governing Council Member, American Institute of CPAs
  • Investment Advisory Council Member, Alaska State Pension Investment Board

Auditor O’Brien’s professional associations include:

  • Colorado Society of CPAs (licensed since 1974)
  • American Institute of CPAs
  • Chartered Financial Analyst Institute
  • Colorado Society of Chartered Financial Analysts (licensed since 1999)
  • National Association of State Auditors (life member)

Education:

  • B.S.B.A. Accounting major, Loyola University- Chicago
  • M.B.A. University of Colorado

Personal life: Tim O’Brien lives in Southeast Denver with his wife Mary Frances Kelley. They have three wonderful daughters and an adorable grandson.  Auditor O’Brien can be reached by calling (720) 913-5002 or emailing auditor@denvergov.org.

Staff

Management Team

Valerie Walling, CPA

Valerie Walling, CPA

Deputy Auditor

valerie.walling@denvergov.org

720-913-5059

Jeffrey Garcia, Esq.

Jeffrey Garcia, Esq.

Director of Contracts and Accountability

jeffrey.garcia@denvergov.org

720-913-5014

Please contact Jeffrey Garcia for all CORA Requests

Media Contacts

Tayler Overschmidt

Tayler Overschmidt

Director of Communications

tayler.overschmidt@denvergov.org

720-913-5033

Michael Mierendorf

Michael Mierendorf

Director of Community Outreach

michael.mierendorf@denvergov.org

720-913-5038

Management Staff

Helen Romero

Helen Romero

Executive Assistant III

720-913-5010
Helen.Romero@denvergov.org

Mollie Horne

Mollie Horne

Executive Assistant I

mollie.horne@denvergov.org
720-913-5075

Tammy Phillips

Tammy Phillips

Agency HR Director

tammy.phillips@denvergov.org
720-913-5006

Skilled Staff

Auditor O’Brien is proud of a skilled and dedicated staff, speacialized in their fields of auditing, law, and communications.

Certified Staff

39 members of staff hold advanced degrees, certifications or law degress – including, but not limited to, Certified Public Accountants, Internal Auditors, Fraud Examiners, and Information System Auditors.

Advanced Technology

Utilizing the latest technology and efforts to maximize results and transparency.

Clear Communication

Auditor O’Brien promised open communication and accessibility to the community during his campaign and the office is using multiple channels to extend the messaging and results of completed work.

Certified Public Accountants

Advanced Degrees & Certifications

Prevailing Wage Investigators

Audit Services and Prevailing Wage Staff

Audit Services Division

Allen Horner, LaKeshia
Audit Supervisor
lakeshia.allenhorner@denvergov.org
720-913-5085

Anderson, Ivy
Senior Auditor
Ivy.Anderson@denvergov.org
720-913-5019

Balnyte, Vilma
Lead Auditor
vilma.balntye@denvergov.org
720-913-5079

Barnes, Amy
Senior Auditor
Amy.Barnes@denvergov.org
720-913-5086

Cheli, Brian
Senior Auditor
Brian.Cheli@denvergov.org
720-913-5056

Clark, Kristen
Reporting Specialist
Kristen.Clark@denvergov.org
720-913-5002

Creamean, Jeremy
Audit Supervisor
jeremy.creamean@denvergov.org
720-913-5028

Doughty, Karin
Lead Auditor
karin.doughty@denvergov.org
720-913-5047

Durant, Maria
Senior Auditor
maria.durant@denvergov.org
720-913-5077

Ebiziem, Joe
Senior Auditor
Joe.Ebiziem@denvergov.org
720-913-5089

Eppstein, Kharis
Lead Auditor
kharis.eppstein@denvergov.org
720-913-5096

Farol, Robert
Lead Auditor
robert.farol@denvergov.org
720-913-5078

Freeman, Katja
Audit Manager
katja.freeman@denvergov.org
720-913-5158

Finke, Darrell
Senior Auditor
darrell.finke@denvergov.org
720-913-5021

Gallaher, Sam
Audit Analytics Administrator
samuel.gallaher@denvergov.org
720-913-5071

Green, Alexandra
Associate Auditor
alexandra.green@denvergov.org
720-913-5007

Hancock, Dave
Senior Auditor
david.hancock@denvergov.org
720-913-5059

Hansen, Anna
Lead Auditor
anna.hansen@denvergov.org
720-913-5064

Harwell, Brad
Lead Auditor
brad.harwell@denvergov.org
720-913-5024

Hoffman, Marc
Senior Auditor
marc.hoffman@denvergov.org
720-913-5023

Holbrook, Roberta
Senior Auditor
roberta.holbrook@denvergov.org
720-913-5173

Hoover, Tim
Reporting Specialist
timothy.hoover@denvergov.org
720-913-5164

Jimroglou, Nick
Lead Auditor
nicholas.jimroglou@denvergov.org
720-913-5074

Keller, Ron
Senior Auditor
ronald.keller@denvergov.org
720-913-5032

Lyles, Catherine
Lead Auditor
catherine.lyles@denvergov.org
720-913-5052

Miller, Jared
IT Audit Supervisor
jared.miller@denvergov.org
720-913-5070

Montano, Sonia
Audit Supervisor
sonia.montano@denvergov.org
720-913-5157

Morales, William
Senior Auditor
william.moralesferrer@denvergov.org
720-913-5039

Owens Gerber, Emily
Audit Supervisor
emily.owens@denvergov.org
720-913-5016

Persichitte, Robert
Senior Auditor
robert.persichitte@denvergov.org
720-913-5084

Sear, Kevin
Audit Manager
720-913-5068
kevin.sear@denvergov.org

Schafer, Patrick
Audit Supervisor
patrick.schafer@denvergov.org
720-913-5020

Schulte, Cody
Audit Supervisor
cody.schulte@denvergov.org
720-913-5066

Stolba, Brandon
Associate Auditor
brandon.stolba@denvergov.org
720-913-5095

Summers, Daniel
Staff Auditor
daniel.summers@denvergov.org
720-913-5079

Thompson, Edyie
Executive Assistant II
edyie.thompson@denvergov.org
720-913-5029
fax: 720-913-5026

Wat, Chris
Staff Auditor
christopher.wat@denvergov.org
720-913-5092

Wilson, Chris
Audit Intern
christopher.wilson@denvergov.org
720-913-5061

Wiseman, Dawn 
Audit Manager
dawn.wiseman@denvergov.org
720-913-5069

Woodward, Drew
Audit Intern
drew.woodward@denvergov.org
720-913-5027

Wysong, Shaun
Senior Auditor
shaun.wysong@denvergov.org
720-913-5094

Prevailing Wage Division

Borquez, Matthew
Prevailing Wage Investigator
matthew.borquez@denvergov.org
720-913-5082

Carter, Carol
Contract Compliance Technician
carol.carter@denvergov.org
720-913-5018   720-913-5035 fax

Denis, Arielle
Prevailing Wage Investigator
720-913-5036
arielle.denis@denvergov.org

Giron, Ava
Contract Compliance Technician
720-913-5040
ava.giron@denvergov.org

Gongon, Rafael
Prevailing Wage Supervisor
rafael.gongon@denvergov.org
720-913-5017

Kreckman, Abby
Lead Prevailing Wage Investigator
abby.kreckman@denvergov.org
720-913-5037

Lopez, Rudy
Prevailing Wage Investigator
rudy.lopez@denvergov.org
720-913-5082

McKechnie, Noah
Prevailing Wage Investigator
noah.mckechnie@denvergov.org
720-913-5081

McKeon, Kandice
Lead Prevailing Wage Investigator
kandice.mckeon@denvergov.org
720-913-5009

Osorio, Luis
Prevailing Wage Investigator
luis.osoriojimenez@denvergov.org
720-913-5081

Ramirez, Valerie
Lead Prevailing Wage Investigator
valerie.ramirez@denvergov.org
DIA 303-342-2738   303-342-2702 fax
Downtown 720-913-5062

Totten, Veronica
Prevailing Wage Investigator
Veronica.Totten@denvergov.org
720-913-1548

Recent office news

The City is Not Accounting for the Full Cost of Workers’ Compensation Claims

According to an audit released by Denver Auditor Timothy M. O’Brien, CPA, the city is not reporting up to 10 percent of its workers’ compensation costs (approximately $3 million during the three-year audit period) in the proper fund. Because the actuaries do not have all the cost information, some of the liabilities associated with workers’ compensation are not recorded at all.

Contact us

Messaging us about

Newsletter Opt-In

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Stay updated once a month with news from our office and Auditor O'Brien

Thanks for your interest in the auditor's office!